Spanish Open Betting

The stage is set for a thrilling Spanish Open (also known as the Open de España) at the PGA Golf de Catalunya in Girona. Star players and past Spanish Open winners will attempt to scoop the top prize and title of Open de España champion. Distinguished former Spanish Open champions include Arnold Palmer, Seve Ballesteros, Bernhard Langer and Nick Faldo.

Part of the PGA European Tour, the Spanish Open golf tournament is one of the oldest Open championships in continental Europe.  Spanish Open History dates back to 1912, and has been a permanent fixture on the European Tour calendar since 1972. It has set records and in 2003 went down in golf history with the most players tied for the lead going into the final round of an event.

Competition is fierce amongst the finest European talent for the top spot. The Spanish Open golf tournament has seen its fair share of elite golfers grace its leaderboard. Previous winners have set European Tour records and with its last title win in 2002 by Sergio Garcia, host nation Spain is hoping to make history and secure this prestigious title for the first time at the PGA Golf de Catalunya.

Girona,  a north-eastern town in Catalonia has many attractions apart from great golfing, the city boasts ancient cathedrals and architecture –  the Collegiate Church of Sant Feliu is one of the most beautiful attractions in Girona and a must-see for golf fans interested in Spanish Open travel. Book your  Spanish Open tickets now using our helpful resources, if you are unable to attend the tournament, you can still participate by having a bet on who will win the Spanish Open!

Thomas Levet Spanish Open Winner

The 2009 Spanish Open winner Thomas Levin made history as the first French player to win 5 titles on the PGA European Tour. Levet dedicated his victory to golf legend Seve Ballesteros who had undergone surgery to remove a brain tumour. The Frenchman defeated Fabrizio Zanotti from Paraguay by 2 strokes and finished at 18-under with a total of 270. 2008 winner Peter Lawrie and Thomas Bjorn tied for 3rd place while South African golfer and 2007 winner Charl Schwartzel finished in 5th place.

2008 Spanish Open

The 2008 Spanish Open was hosted at the Real Club de Golf de Sevilla, Seville. The course opened in 1992, and was designed by Spanish professional golfer Jose Maria Olazabal. In 2004, the golf course underwent toughening changes in order to meet the requirements for the World Cup that year which made the course even more challenging.

To make things even more interesting, place bets on how you think the 2010 Spanish Open golf tournament will go. We have Spanish Open betting information and heaps of interesting facts and trivia to keep you in the know.

Can you predict the Spanish Open golf tournament champion? Will a Spanish winner triumph again at the PGA Golf de Catalunya?