Spanish Open Facts & Trivia

MADRID, SPAIN - APRIL 29: Charl Schwartzel of South Africa plays from the rough on the 18th during the compleation of the weather delayed Round Three of the Open de Espana 2007 at Centro Nacional de Golf on April 29, 2007 in Madrid, Spain. (Photo by Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)
Also known as the Open de España, the Spanish Open golf tournament has been around since 1912 and has been a permanent fixture on the European Tour calendar since it was started in 1972. Despite changing venues over the years, the Spanish Open has seen records set and a number of top golfing champions appear on its leaderboard.

2003 was a big year for the Spanish Open with the lowest mark in European Tour history. The 36 hole cut came at 138 (-6) and there were most players tied for the lead going into the final round; six – all on 197 (-19). The players were: Paul Casey, Kenneth Ferrie (eventual winner), Søren Hansen, Simon Khan, Santiago Luna and Spanish amateur Pablo Martin.

Sweden has featured quite prominently on the list of winners, with consecutive wins by golf champions Nicholas Fasth and Peter Hanson in 2006 and 2005. Sweden just missed setting a record of three consecutive wins by different Swedish players in Spanish Open history. The only other country to get 3 consecutive wins in the Spanish Open by different players was England between 1986 and 1988.

South Africa’s Charl Schwartzel got the first win for his country since 1979 – his second European Tour title.

At the 2008 Spanish Open golf tournament, Irish golfer, Peter Lawrie claimed his first title in a playoff against local favourite Iganacio Garrido.

More Spanish Open Facts & Trivia

Most wins:

6 – Angel de la Torre – 1916, 17, 19, 23, 25, 35

Consecutive wins:

3 – Angel de la Torre – 1916, 17, 19

2 – Arnaud Massy – 1927, 28; Gabriel Gonzalez – 1932, 33

2 – Marcelino Morcillo – 1948, 49; Max Faulkner – 1952, 53

Youngest winner:

Dale Hayes, 18 and 290 days, 1971

Oldest winner:

Arnold Palmer, 45 and 221 days, 1975

*Playing Stats from 1972 onwards

Largest winning margin:

8 shots – Sam Torrance, 1982

Holes-in-one: 10

Low cut:

138 (-6), 2003, (European Tour record)

High cut:

153 (+9), 1987

Are you brushed up on your Spanish Open facts and trivia? If so you could be successful at *golf betting.